FMS: Learning to Train Stage (Grade 4-8)



Quick Overview

This handbook is design for teachers and coaches of youth in Grade 4-8 (8-14 years old) who are in the Learning to Train stage of the Long-Term Athletic Development (LTAD) model.

FMS: Learning to Train Stage (Grade 4-8)

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


This resource includes:

  • Theory, teaching tips, and activities to assist in teaching dynamic motor skills and sport specific skills
  • A description/introduction of the 24 mature movement patterns with characteristics, cue words and a variety of activities to help in the development of the skills
  • An assessment checklist for the various motor and sport skills
  • The three major skill categories within the LTAD Model: elaborations and combinations of stability skills, manipulation skills, and locomotor skills
  • Development of integrating cognitive, mental, emotional, and social skills
  • Transitions to more sport-specific qualities including new fitness-related concepts like speed, strength, stamina, coordination, balance, and agility
  • Comprehension and application of basic training and self-regulatory principles like warm-up, progression, and anxiety management